Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Trivia Tuesday: Baseball Edition

Since I attended two Nationals-Pirates games last week (and missed trivia night), I figured I would have a baseball-themed Trivia Tuesday. Think you know baseball? Try your luck on the rules of the game.

True or False

1. Runner on second, two out. The batter hits a home run, scoring R2 (the runner on second), but the batter-runner (B-R) is declared out for missing first base. Only one run counts.

2. An outfielder may wear a first baseman’s mitt in the outfield.

3. A B-R can never be declared out when he is hit by a thrown ball as he is running in foul territory.

4. There is a no penalty for throwing a glove at a fair ball.

5. The ball always becomes dead immediately when a balk is called.

Multiple Choice

6. One out, runner on first. The batter hits a sharp one-hopper to the first baseman. The first baseman tags R1 (runner on first), who is standing on first base, then tags the base before the B-R arrives.
a. Double play.
b. The B-R is out when first base is tagged. The runner is safe since the force was removed.
c. The B-R is out on the force. To complete the double play, R1 must be retired at second base.
d. The B-R is declared out. R1 is safe since he is not forced until the B-R touches first base.

7. With a runner on first and one out, the batter hits a pop-up to the second baseman. He gets under the ball, then backs up and lets it fall untouched in front of him. He turns an easy double play.
a. The umpire should invoke the infield fly rule.
b. The double play stands.
c. The ball is ruled dead.
d. The batter is declared out on the intentional drop and the runner may advance at his own peril.

8. No outs, runner on first. A hot grounder is smashed up the middle. The shortstop fields the ball but throws it wildly trying to retire R1 approaching second, and the ball rolls into the first-base dugout just after R1 rounded second and the B-R has touched first. Place the runners.
a. Both runners score.
b. R1 scores; B-R is awarded third.
c. R1 scores; B-R is awarded second.
d. R1 is awarded third; B-R is awarded second.

9. The batter swings and misses for strike three. The pitch touches him as he swings and the ball drops to the ground. What is the ruling?
a. The batter is out. The ball remains alive and in play.
b. The batter can run and possibly reach first base safely.
c. The ball is dead and the batter is out.
d. The ball is dead and the batter is awarded first base.

10. Runner on third and no outs with a 1-2 count on the batter. The runner attempts to steal home, and as he is sliding across the plate, he is hit by the pitch within the batter’s strike zone.
a. The ball is alive and in play. All play stands.
b. The ball is dead and the batter called out on strikes. The run scores.
c. The ball is dead and the batter called out on strikes. The runner returns to third.
d. The ball is dead. This is a double play. The batter is out on strikes and the runner is out for interference.

As always, please leave your answers in the comments section below. Good luck!

These questions were included as part of the book I’m currently reading by Bruce Weber titled "As They See ‘Em: A Fan’s Travels in the Land of Umpires."

Since we're on the topic of baseball, today is the 50th anniversary of the greatest game ever pitched. Read more about Harvey Haddix's 12 perfect innings from Sunday's Post-Gazette.

5 comments:

Hand of Godard said...

1. True
2. True
3. False
4. False
5. True

6. b
7. d
8. b
9. c
10.d

Messiah said...

1) T
2) F
3) F
4) F -- This is the only one I know. I believe it is the rare "three bases awarded" remedy.
5) T

6)D
7)B
8)B
9)C
10)B

Tim said...

1) T
2) F
3) F
4) F
5) T

6) A
7) B
8) B
9) C
10) D

Sean said...

Answer time.

1. False. The out at first base is considered a force play, so no run counts.

2. False. The allowable dimensions of a first baseman's mitt exceed those of the gloves of other fielders. (Messiah & Tim are correct)

3. False. Everyone is right!

4. True! A penalty of three bases for each base runner applies only if the thrown glove touches the ball. A bit of a trick question.

5. False. If the balk is committed when a pitch is immminent or a pickoff is being attempted, the ball remains in play until all play ceases. Only then is time called and the balk rule applied. (I don't think I agree with this one.)

6. A. Double play. Tim is correct.

7. B. The play stands. Point for Messiah and Tim.

8. D. When the first play by an infielder on a batted ball is a throw that goes out of play, the batter and all runners are awarded two bases from their position at the time the pitcher pitched the ball-not at the time the fielder threw it.

9. C. The ball is dead and the batter is out. Everyone wins!

10. B. The ball is dead and the batter called out on strikes. The run scores. Messiah gets the square. Now, if there are two out, the third strike ends the inning and the run does not score.

Interesting stuff, huh?

Thanks to all three of you for trying your luck!

Hand of Godard said...

Wow I suck