Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Best Pittsburgh Sports Blog Tournament Round One (Part One)

Welcome to the third annual Best Pittsburgh Sports Blog Tournament. If you are new to this tournament, I encourage you to check out the rules and the very special selection show. We’ll begin the first round momentarily, but there’s a minor change this year. Instead of having voting for all 16 match-ups take place at one time, I’m dividing the first round into two. Voting for the Johnny Ray and John Cullen divisions begins now and will run until 8:00 PM on Wednesday. The first round for the Carlton Haselrig and Jerome Lane divisions will take place on Thursday and Friday.

Before we begin, there has been a last-minute change in the tournament. Pittsburgh Lumber Co. announced yesterday that the blog is inactive as the authors are joining Pirates Prospects. Instead of re-seeding the entire bracket or even just the Carlton Haselrig division, I simply replaced Pittsburgh Lumber Co. with Blitzburgh Blog as the #6 seed. The reason is simple: creating the voting questions is much harder than it looks, and I already set this up for the first round. That's probably a bad answer, but it's the truth. I may need to find a new way to vote next year.

Anyway, here's the updated bracket:

I didn’t mention this earlier, but I ask that you only vote once per match-up. This is not the most sophisticated voting software (see above), so I’m sure that savvy computer folks can set up a way to rig the voting a certain way. Please don’t. This is designed to be a fun tournament, so let’s keep it this way. If you want to campaign for a certain blog, please feel free to do so, but do not disparage or insult other blogs. The people who write these blogs spend hundreds of hours doing so and generally for little or no money.

With that, let the games begin!

Johnny Ray Division

#1 Mondesi’s House vs. #8 Post Game Heroes

#4 Blog ‘N’ Gold vs. #5 The Confluence

#3 Pirates Prospects vs. #6 Nice Pick Cowher

#2 That’s Church vs. #7 Steelers Today

John Cullen Division

#1 Empty Netters vs. #8 This Is Getting Old

#4 Raise the Jolly Roger vs. #5 DC Steeler Nation

#3 Steelers Gab vs. #6 Faceoff Factor

#2 Pittsburgh Sports and Mini Ponies (PSAMP) vs. #7 Cardiac Hill

Good luck to all of these blogs, and thank you for voting and for visiting these sites!

In addition, thanks again to Cotter for designing the fantastic logo.

Update: Voting for these match-ups is now complete. Voting for the remaining first round match-ups will begin tomorrow (Thursday) at 9:00 AM Eastern time. Thanks again for participating!


Yost Ice Arena said...

Get to our Game, or GTOG, is a great new blog. Expect to see them in the tourney next year. They are a daily stop for me

Blitzburgh Blog said...

Joe Lunardi had us penciled in as the 6th seed along haha.

Anonymous said...

No Bucs Dugout in the bracket this year?

Sean said...

Yost - Thanks for the tip about GTOG!

Blitzburg - Lundardi's always right, isn't he!

Anonymous - Bucs Dugout was the champion of last year's tournament. Both Bucs Dugout and The PensBlog are ineligible since they are the previous winners.